Connect with us

CEOWORLD magazine

CEOWORLD magazine

Successful People use non-digital solutions to help navigate hyperconnected world?

Rankings Insider

Successful People use non-digital solutions to help navigate hyperconnected world?

In today’s “hyperconnected world,” we’ve found that 90% of the top performers use non-digital solutions to help them cope. While I’ve run across numerous effective tools that the most effective and successful people employ when faced with the hyperconnected nature of our modern world.

It will probably surprise you to learn that the number one non-digital solution successful people use? A simple notebook or journal. Let’s explain this with two examples:

Sir Richard Branson Experience:I think we can all agree that Sir Richard Branson, best known as the founder of Virgin Group, is a current success story. His Virgin brand encompasses over 400 different companies. In his book, Losing My Virginity, he had this to say: “…my most essential possession is a standard-sized school notebook, which can be brought at any stationary shop on any high street across the country. I carry this everywhere and write down all the comments that are made to me by Virgin staff and anyone else I meet. I make notes of all telephone conversations and all meetings, and I draft out letters and lists of telephone calls to make…the discipline of writing everything down ensures that I have listened to people carefully.”

Oprah Winfrey  experience: She has kept a handwritten journal since she was 15. She has written, “It’s a wonder that I’ve managed to be a successful human being considering how pathetic I appeared in many of my daily musings. It’s a testament to growth and grace that I’ve come this far…In my 40s, I got wiser. I started using journals to express my gratitude — and watched my blessings multiply. What you focus on expands.”

Sheryl Sandberg Experience: According to Michael Helft, senior writer at the Fortune Magazine: “[Sheryl’s] days are a flurry of meetings that she runs with the help of a decidedly undigital spiral-bound notebook. On it, she keeps lists of discussion points and action items. She crosses them off one by one, and once every item on a page is checked, she rips the page off and moves to the next. If every item is done 10 minutes into an hour-long meeting, the meeting is over.”

Aristotle Onassis, legendary Greek shipping magnate gave this advice: “Always carry a notebook. Write everything down. When you have an idea, write it down. When you meet someone new, write down everything you know about them. That way you will know how much time they are worth. When you hear something interesting, write it down. Writing it down will make you act upon it. If you don’t write it down you will forget it. THAT is a million dollar lesson they don’t teach you in business school!”

This is why many of the most effective and successful people use this simple notebook or journal write about their their dream of new concepts, ideas, and solutions that can be applied to their professional and/or personal lives. If you’re in the idea business, get in the habit today of trapping those ideas in a hand written journal.

Most Influential Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) on Twitter

Below are my recommendations for the top CEOs that you should consider following on Twitter – Most Influential Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) on Twitter:

  • Marc Benioff, the founder, chairman and CEO of salesforce.com – Twitter: @benioff
  • Sir Richard Branson, the founder of Virgin Group – Twitter: @richardbranson
  • Bill Gross, founded Idealab in March 1996 and serves as the company’s Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer – Twitter: @bill_gross
  • Chris Brogan, publisher and CEO of Owner Magazine, a business magazine helping you improve your worth by growing your capabilities and connections – Twitter: @chrisbrogan
  • Brian Solis, Altimeter, the principal at Altimeter Group, a research and advisory firm, author of the bestselling books The End of Business as Usual, Engage! and What’s the Future of Business (WTF). – Twitter: @briansolis
  • Jon Ferrara, Pioneer & creator of #CRM solutions, CEO – Nimble, Founder of GoldMine. – Twitter: @jon_ferrara
  • Mark Cuban – Twitter: @mcuban
  • Gary Vaynerchuk, Vaynermedia – Twitter: @garyvee
  • Jack Dorsey, Square – Twitter: @jack
  • Aaron Levie, Box – Twitter: @levie
  • Steve Case, Case Foundation – Twitter: @stevecase
  • Ray Wang, Constellation Research – Twitter: @rwang0
  • Roman Stanek, GoodData – Twitter: @romanstanek
  • Peter Cashmore, Mashable – Twitter: @petercashmore
  • Steve Forbes, Forbes – Twitter: @steveforbesceo
  • Tim O’Reilly, O’Reilly Media – Twitter: @timoreilly
  • Elon Musk, Tesla and SpaceX – Twitter: @elonmusk
  • Brian Halligan, HubSpot – Twitter: @bhalligan
  • Charlene Li, Altimeter – Twitter: @charleneli
  • Donald Trump, Trump Organization – Twitter: @donaldtrump
  • Michael Dell, Dell – Twitter: @michaeldell
  • Peter Aceto, CEO of ING DIRECT Canada – Twitter: @PeterAceto
  • Andrew Grill, Kred – Twitter: @andrewgrill
  • Wendy S Lea, Get Satisfaction – Twitter: @wendyslea
  • Bill Gates, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation – Twitter: @billgates
  • Shervin Pishevar, Sherpa Foundry – Twitter: @shervin
  • Micky Arison, Carnival – Twitter: @mickyarison
  • Mark Fidelman, Evolve – Twitter: @markfidelman
  • Marissa Mayer, Yahoo – Twitter: @marissamayer
  • Rupert Murdoch, News Corporation – Twitter: @rupertmurdoch
  • Aneel Bhusri, Workday – Twitter: @aneelb
  • Mark Bertolini, Aetna, – Twitter: @mtbert
  • Kevin Rose, Google Ventures – Twitter: @kevinrose
  • Bryan Kramer, PureMatter – Twitter: @bryankramer
  • Dennis Crowley, Foursquare – Twitter: @dens
  • Dick Costolo, Twitter – Twitter: @dickc
  • David Morin, Path – Twitter: @davidmorin
  • Jeffrey Joerres, Manpower – Twitter: @manpowergroupjj
  • Michelle Rhee, StudentFirst – Twitter: @michellerhee
  • Ryan Holmes, HootSuite – Twitter: @invoker
  • David Karp, Tumblr – Twitter: @davidkarp
  • Drew Houston, Dropbox – Twitter: @drewhouston
  • Jeff Weiner, LinkedIn – Twitter: @jeffweiner
  • Jeremy Stoppelman, Yelp – Twitter: @jeremys
  • Daniel Ek, Spotify – Twitter: @eldsjal
  • Gary Knel, NPR – Twitter: @NPRgaryknell
  • Jack Salzwedel, American Family Mutual Insurance Group – Twitter: @amfamjack
  • Jonah Peretti, BuzzFeed – Twitter: @peretti
  • Andrew Mason, Former CEO of Groupon – Twitter: @andrewmason
  • Hikmet Ersek, Western Union Company LLC – Twitter: @westernunionCEO

Leave a Reply

Editor, Amelia W Grant

Editor, Amelia W Grant Verified account

Associate editor (Digital Content) at CEOWORLD Magazine
Associate editor (Digital Content) at the CEOWORLD magazine. New Yorker. Generally prefer dogs to humans. Loves dragons.
Editor, Amelia W Grant

More in Rankings Insider

To Top